NURS 64100 and NURS 64300: the Lewis FNP women's health and pediatric practicums
Lewis FNP students take two specialty practicums that no other track shares: NURS 64100 Primary Care of Women and NURS 64300 Primary Care of Infants & Children. Each is worth 2 credits, each follows its own management course, and neither description states clock hours. Together they replaced NURS 61700, the single 270-hour course in the 2024-25 catalog.
Find women's health and pediatric preceptors
Tell us where you live and when NURS 64100 and NURS 64300 start. We search both specialties near you.
NURS 64100 and NURS 64300NURS 61700 (2024-25 catalog)
The two courses in the 2026-27 catalog
Only the FNP route requires these courses: the MSN FNP, the FNP Certificate of Advanced Study and the BSN to DNP FNP track. Each practicum has a matching management course.
| Course | Title | Credits | Clock hours | Relationship |
|---|---|---|---|---|
NURS 64000 | Family Nurse Practitioner Management: Primary Care of Women | 2 | None | Listed as a prerequisite for NURS 64100 |
NURS 64100 | Family Nurse Practitioner Practicum: Primary Care of Women | 2 (course list: 1.5 to 2) | Not stated | Practicum |
NURS 64200 | Family Nurse Practitioner Management: Primary Care of Infants and Children | 2 | None | Listed as a prerequisite for NURS 64300 |
NURS 64300 | Family Nurse Practitioner Practicum: Primary Care of Infants & Children | 2 (course list: 1.5 to 2) | Not stated | Practicum |
Every other Lewis NP practicum names its management course as a corequisite taken in the same semester. These two list the management course as a prerequisite, which reads as management first and practicum after. Lewis publishes no FNP plan of study, so confirm the order with your advisor before you set dates with a preceptor.
From one 270-hour course to two
The archived 2024-2025 graduate catalog handled this content in a single practicum, NURS 61700 FNP Practicum: Primary Care of Women, Infants and Children, at 270 clock hours. The 2026-27 FNP program splits that practicum into NURS 64100 and NURS 64300, gives each its own 2-credit management course, and keeps the track's 630-hour minimum.
NURS 61700 has not disappeared from the course list, but no current program requires it. If your plan of study was drawn up under the older catalog, ask your advisor which version governs your remaining courses before you arrange a preceptor for either new practicum. The answer decides whether you need one combined women's and children's placement or two separate ones, each with its own semester.
How many hours each course needs
Lewis does not print the answer. Working backward from the program gives a combined figure: 630 minus the 180 hours printed for NURS 61100 and the 180 printed for NURS 61800 leaves 270, the same as the retired course. Dividing that evenly would give 135 apiece.
Both numbers are our arithmetic, not Lewis's. Lewis may weight women's health and pediatrics differently, set a higher floor for one of them, or count hours in ways the catalog does not show. The syllabus for each course and your track coordinator hold the real requirement. The complete FNP arithmetic, next to what Lewis does state, is on the FNP 630-hour page.
Give a prospective preceptor the hour figure from your syllabus, not an estimate. A women's health or pediatric office that plans around the wrong number can leave you short late in the term, when adding clinic days is hardest.
Preceptors for Primary Care of Women
The course title frames the work as primary care of women. Settings we look at include women's health practices, OB/GYN offices with a strong well-woman and gynecologic caseload, and family practices where women's visits make up a large share of the schedule. The preceptor might be a women's health NP, a family NP or a physician; Lewis publishes no credential list, and faculty approve each preceptor for the designated course.
Clinics owned by a health system often route students through that system's own application. According to its own student page, Northwestern Medicine places APRN students at its north and northwest suburban sites only from schools with a current affiliation agreement, gives its own staff priority, and asks for at least 4 to 8 weeks. An independent practice may instead need a new affiliation agreement with Lewis, drafted after your request and signed by the practice.
Preceptors for Primary Care of Infants & Children
NURS 64300 needs a practice that sees infants and children in primary care: pediatric offices, family practices with a large pediatric panel, and community health centers with pediatric clinics. A family practice that treats whole families may fit both specialty practicums, which is worth raising with faculty, since approval is course by course.
We start pediatric searches early because the title narrows the field: it rules out internal medicine and geriatric practices and leaves only offices that see infants and children. When you ask, mention that Illinois lets an APRN count ten CE hours for each student precepted through a semester. The preceptor requirements page lists what to confirm with any preceptor before you file.
Two requests, possibly in two semesters
Each practicum is its own course, so each needs its own approved preceptor and site through Lewis's contract portal. Review runs two weeks or longer once a request is complete, and a new affiliation agreement keeps the request in review until the agency signs. Any extra documents an agency asks for go to both the agency and the Clinical Placement Office.
When the two practicums fall in different semesters, plan both searches together anyway. A women's health preceptor confirmed early leaves your time for the pediatric search, and the reverse holds too. The contract portal guide explains the statuses you will see, and the 16-week course guide shows how Lewis's semesters frame each course.
How we cover both specialty searches
Our placement desk treats NURS 64100 and NURS 64300 as two matches planned side by side. We search your community for women's health and pediatric preceptors whose caseload fits each title, check license standing and site details, and prepare the full information set the portal asks for, so each request goes in complete and early. Where one family practice could cover both, we flag it for you to raise with faculty.
You receive each preceptor's details laid out the way the contract portal asks for them, so filing is a matter of entering what you already hold. If a preceptor steps away during the semester, we search again at once for someone in the same specialty. For the rest of the FNP route, see the FNP track guide, and tell us your practicum terms through the contact form.
Questions Lewis students ask
How many clinical hours is NURS 64300 at Lewis?
The 2026-27 course description prints none. Arithmetic from the 630-hour FNP minimum leaves 270 hours for the women's health and pediatric practicums together, matching the retired NURS 61700, but Lewis has not published how those hours divide. Get the figure from the NURS 64300 syllabus or your track coordinator before your preceptor builds a schedule.
Can one family practice cover both NURS 64100 and NURS 64300?
Lewis has no public rule either way. Faculty approve each preceptor and site for a designated course, so one practice would need approval for each. A family practice that sees women of all ages and a steady flow of infants and children is the kind that might qualify. Ask your track coordinator before relying on a single site.
Do I still need NURS 61700?
Not under the 2026-27 FNP curriculum. NURS 61700 remains in the course list, but the FNP program table now requires NURS 64000, NURS 64100, NURS 64200 and NURS 64300 in its place. Students whose plan was built on the 2024-25 catalog should confirm with their advisor which courses they still owe.
Do AGPCNP students take a women's health or pediatric practicum?
No. The AGPCNP track's three practicums are NURS 61100, NURS 61800 and NURS 61500, each printed at 180 clock hours. Women's health and infant and child primary care are FNP requirements only, which is why only FNP students need these two extra preceptor matches.
Which comes first, NURS 64100 or NURS 64300?
Lewis's public pages set no order between them. Each lists its own management course as a prerequisite, NURS 64000 for women's health and NURS 64200 for infants and children, and the FNP has no published semester plan. Your advisor maps the order for your cohort, and your preceptor searches should follow that map.
Related pages
Last checked 2026-09-25
We check these pages against Lewis's own catalog, program pages and FAQ, its contract portal and Illinois law. Your course, your track coordinator and the Clinical Placement Office have the final word.
- Lewis graduate catalog: NURS course descriptions (2026-27)
- Lewis graduate catalog: MSN Family Nurse Practitioner
- Lewis 2024-2025 Graduate Catalog (archived PDF, NURS 61700)
- Lewis contract status legend (PDF, 2020, still linked from the portal)
- Northwestern Medicine: APRN student practicum requests, north and northwest suburbs
Lewis asks you to identify your preceptor. We do the searching.
Tell us your Lewis program, where you live and when your next practicum starts. We find preceptors near you who fit the course and prepare every detail the contract portal asks for, so your request goes in complete.
- Preceptors matched to the practicum: primary care for
NURS 61100andNURS 61800, acute care forNURS 62500, psychiatric care forNURS 63300 - Preceptor, license and site details ready for your preceptor contract request
- In your own community, anywhere Lewis enrolls you and your RN license is valid
Start your placement plan
Program, city and start date is all we need to begin.